Skip to content

Mr Children: Any

August 5, 2008

Any

      03.01.01
      Artist: Mr Children
      Title: Any
      Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
      Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

      touching just across the surface,
      Suddenly I became disgusted with everything,
      it seems I’m writhing, to force out this darkness lurking within me.

      I’ve searched desperately
      for the lies in truth, for the truth in lies but…

      Even if the place I’m at now is different than the one I searched for
      it’s not a mistake, surely there’s more than one answer.
      With my twelve colored heart,
      I’m going to paint more of my favorite scenery again,
      on the dirty self portrait that I’ve touched up over and over again.

      I’ve sacrificed many things, and involved others
      while I ran in a haze of joy, I blamed it on the times.
      Even as we’re saying “Isn’t there something better?”
      All we do is throw out groundless theories.

      And then I knew that I couldn’t change anything
      just getting by with the tiniest effort.

      Even if the place I’m at now is different than the one I wanted to be,
      there’s nothing wrong with that, surely there’s more than one answer
      Even if when you say “I love you” you don’t really mean it,
      because I can’t help but feel happy, for me that too is truth.

      intersection, traffic signal, the smell of exhaust
      a car’s horn, the grafitti on the wall, the torn poster

      Even if the place I’m at now is different than the one I searched for
      it’s not a mistake, there’s always more than one answer.
      With my twelve colored heart,
      I’m going to paint more of my favorite scenery again,
      on the dirty self portrait that I’ve touched up over and over again.
      paint more again.

      all of that is truth.

      Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

      Translator’s Notes: The two lines which sum up what the song is saying are
      uwabe bakari wo nademawasarete… and kotesaki de yarikuri shita tte What
      Sakurai seems to be saying is that he never really lets himself get
      involved in things, never really lets himself care so nothing good ever
      comes of it. He’s always just scratching the surface, or just doing the
      thing that takes the least effort. In the song he also mentions that he
      blames all his own misgivings on the times, on our society. Something
      about that really makes sense to me, that he recognizes his weaknesses and
      yet doesn’t necesarilly say he’ll change them in the song. He more or less
      says he’ll go on the only way he knows how. Because for him that’s the
      only reality he can really know. And why is his heart only 12 colors?
      (Answer from the Future: Because he was thinking of the sounds a keyboard
      makes.)

      Romaji

      uwabe bakari wo nademawasarete
      kyuu ni subete ni iyake ga sashita boku ha
      boku no naka ni hisonda kurayami wo
      muriyari hojikuridashite mogaiteta you da

      shinjitsu kara ha uso wo
      uso kara ha shinjitsu wo
      muchuu de sagashitekita kedo

      ima boku no iru basho ga sagashiteta no to chigatte mo
      machigai jyanai kitto kotae ha hitotsu jyanai
      nando mo te wo kuwaeta yogoreta jigazou ni hora
      mata 12(jyuuni) shoku no kokoro de suki na haikei wo kakitashiteiku

      ironna koto wo gisei ni shite, makizoi ni shite
      etsu ni hitatte hashitta jibun wo jidai no sei ni shitan da
      ‘motto ii koto ha nai ka?’ tte iinagara
      takujyou no kuuron wo furimawashite bakka

      soshite boku ha shitteshimatta
      kotesaki de yarikurishita tte
      nani hitotsu mo kaerare ha shinai

      ima boku no iru basho ga nozondeta no to chigatte mo
      waruku ha nai kitto kotae ha hitotsu jyanai
      ‘aishiteru’ to kimi ga iu kuchisaki dake da to shitemo
      tamaranaku ureshikunaru kara sore mo mata boku ni totte shinjitsu

      kousaten shingouki haikigasu no nioi
      kurakushon kabe no rakugaki yabureta posuta-

      ima boku no iru basho ga sagashiteta no to chigatte mo
      machigai jyanai itsumo kotae ha hitotsu jyanai
      nando mo te wo kuwaeta yogoreta jigazou ni hora
      mata 12(jyuuni) shoku no kokoro de suki na haikei wo kakitashiteiku
      mata kakitashiteiku

      sono subete shinjitsu

      Romaji By: Brian Stewart

Leave a Reply

