Skip to content

Mr Children: Door

August 5, 2008

Door

10.08.05
Artist: Mr. Children
Title: Door
Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

open this door!
open up!
this is like my umpteenth time knocking,
I know you’re in there
so quit pretending and open up!
this door is heavy, and is hung poorly
so it makes this ugly grinding sound
I realize this.
but if you’ll just let me in,
I’ll make you forget all about that
could you please open this door
I asked the landlord
but they treated me like a stranger
and told me to go home, and get out of here
I can’t find my key,
huh, where did I put it yesterday?
hmm, this door might possibly,
it could maybe, possibly mean..
no, it doesn’t symbolize anything, it’s not an allegory
or a message of any kind
if I can open it then,
life the way it was yesterday
will be waiting on the otherside
so open this door!
open up!
this is like the X hundredth time I’ve knocked
I know you’re in there
stop pretending and open up.

Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

Translator’s Notes: None

Romaji

sono doa wo aketekure
sono doa wo akete kure
mou nanjyuukai mo nokku shite
nokku shiteru yo
irusu wo tsukatten no nante shitteru yo
aketekure
sono doa ha omokute tatetsuke ga warukute
gishigishi to iya na oto ga suru
sore mo shitteru yo
demo iretekure sae sureba
sonna koto wasuresaseru yo
kono doa wo akete kudasai
kanrinin ni ittan da
demo fushinsha atsukai de kaere
kaere tte iu yo
kagi ga miataranain da
are kinou doko ni shimatta kke?
kono doa ha hyotto shite
hyotto shitara hyotto shite
nan no tatoe demo shouchou demo
messe-ji demo nakute
hiraita tte kinou to onaji
seikatsu ga matteitari shite
sono doa wo akete kure
sono doa wo akete kure
mou nanhyakukai nokku shite,
nokku shiteru yo
irusu wo tsukatten no nante
shitteiru yo akete kure

Romaji By: Brian Stewart

Leave a Reply

