Skip to content

Mr Children: Kimi ga Suki

August 5, 2008

Kimi ga Suki (I Love You)

02.1.08
Artist: Mr. Children
Title: Kimi ga Suki (I Love You)
Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

If I could still have one wish come true…
If I spend a day just daydreaming
imagining all the possibilities,
here in tokyo the muddied moon comes with the night
and out popped this answer…

I love you
I don’t care if there’s any other meaning to my life but this
in the depths of night, on the side of the apartment building
I buy two cans of coffee from the old vending machines.

It would be wonderful if I could wipe your tears away with my hand but
like me you keep a secret space that you still don’t want to let people
into.

I love you
even if, in the sound of those words, there lies a hint of a warm law of
inertia
the feeling burns along with the indecisive melody
repeating again and again

the familiar muddied moon in the sky above the pedestrian overpass
is vainly trying to tell something to us who are going to be ruined.

I love you
I don’t care if there’s any other meaning to my life but this
in the depths of night, I wait for you
The feelings with nowhere to go floating in the night sky.
I love you, I love you
the feeling burns along with the indecisive melody

Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

Translator’s Notes: Contrary to my initial impression of this song, it
appears to not be a flat out love song. The “I love you” part is not
something that the singer is actually saying to anyone… he’s just
thinking about the words “I love you” and what they mean. The singer is in
a relationship in which he’s unsure of his partner’s feelings about him,
so he’s thinking about what might be if he says those words to her, while
he waits for her at the side of her apartment building to take her on a
date I assume.

* 1 – It’s funny the word “muddied” in this sense sort of reminds us of
Tokyo’s pollution. Like the moon only looks muddied because of the
pollution in the air.

* 2 – So here’s the big problem… what the hell is “a warm law of
inertia!?” I’ll let Takko fill in this one, T: “The law of inertia states
that something put into motion will continue in that motion until forces
work against it. In this way Sakurai’s “I love you” feelings are put into
motion and he’s waiting for the girl or something to sort of catch it or
stop it.”

* 3 – This indecisive melody he speaks of is likely the “music” in the
words themselves “I love you”. Read it yourselves and make your own
conclusions, this is just our interpretation.

Leave a Reply

