Skip to content

Mr Children: Kutsuhimo

August 5, 2008

Kutsuhimo (Shoelaces)

10.14.05
Artist: Mr. Children
Title: Kutsuhimo (Shoelaces)
Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

I’m always putting it off,
but I know what must be done
I like myself, mixed up with your paints
let someone else care about
all the things I used to care so much about
I don’t want to lose you, I have to hurry

I rush out of the house at a clip,
without even tying my shoelaces
and jump onto the bus going past the stop
ah just to get to the place you wait even one second sooner

there’s a mutt tied to the guard rail awaiting its master
on the road that runs by the super market,
I wish you’d smile at me,
standing here holding the handstrap (on the bus),
in some way the dog and I are alike
I’m all restless.

I feel the love, I feel the hurt, and then I lose myself
I feel annoyed, I want it to be over, but it only gets harder
ah just to get to the place you wait even one moment sooner.

I jump off the bus as it comes to a stop,
bolt off with everything i’ve got, unconcerned with my shoelaces
I love you, it pains me, your color is mixed into me
that part of me, is now my favorite color, it’s my color
ah just to get to the place you wait even one second sooner
ah just to get to the place you wait even one moment sooner.

Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

Translator’s Notes: The image of the song is this guy has his own palette.
His own colors and this girl comes along who squirts hers into his. Thus
when he says “my favorite color, my color” later in the song, what’s
happened is the colors have mixed.

Romaji

itsumade udauda shiterun da
dou subeki ka ha shitterun da
kimi e no gu de nigotta boku ga ii
kodawatteta mono minna
dareka ni yuzutta tte ii ya
ushinaitakunai isogankucha

kutsuhimo mo musabazu ni kakeashi de tobidashite
teiryuujyo wo tsuuka shiteku sono basu ni tobinotte
aa ichibyou demo hayaku kimi no matsu basho he

su-pa- no mae hodou ni
shuujin wo matsu zasshu no inu
ga-dore-ru ni tsunagareteiru
kimi ni hohoende hoshikute
tsurigusa nigitteiru boku to dokoka niteiru
sowasowa shite

itooshikute kurushikute soshite jibun wo miushinatte
uzattekute owarashite demo motto kurushikute
aa isshun demo hayaku kimi no matsu basho he

shibuya de teiden shita kono basu wo tobidashite
kutsuhimo mo musubazu ni zenryoku de kakedashite
itooshikute setsunakute kimi no iro de nigotteiru
sono bubun ga ima ichiban suki na iro, boku no iro
aa ichibyou demo hayaku kimi no matsu basho he
aa isshun demo hayaku kimi no matsu basho he

Romaji By: Brian Stewart

Leave a Reply

