Skip to content

Mr Children: Tsuyogari

August 8, 2008

Tsuyogari

By special request since so many came in here looking for the transliteration and romaji of this song. The romaji is down below, after the transliteration.

01.02.22
Artist: Mr. Children
Title: Tsuyogari
Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

I can see the old wounds in your rigid posture
even your hands that carry this heavy baggage, I know your fronts.

Even if you try laughing I know that
you’re erecting invisible walls around your heart

i tried to call your name with a helpless tiny voice
getting through the lonely nights, hurry up, face me head on and hold me.

I want to be with you, even if our love can never be said to be close
I’d always be happy to get a call from you.

my circle of friends I can talk to has also narrowed of its own accord.
Walking with that tiny wish in my pocket.

overestimating the “oh you’re so nice”, I seemed angry but its different.
get through the sadness, face me and strongly hold me other head on.

playing my six string I change my love spontaneously to song
clumsy fingers slipping shaking

sometimes brimming with confidence I try and scream your name
take it easy just come to me one step at a time.
and then oneday when you’re ready, hurry up and face me head on, and hold
me strongly
just like that, forget your fronting.

Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

Translator’s Notes: This song is very special to us. Let’s start with an
explaination of tsuyogari which my dictionary (garbage that it is)
translates as “bluff”. I saw pishaw! to that. Tsuyogari as we have
translated it is closer to front. As in putting up a front. A false face
to keep things at a safe distance from you. so you never get hurt and you
can never hurt others. That is how the word is being used here. I can’t
find a word that accurately captures all that if YOU do drop us a line,
and we’ll see if its better. Ok there is a Japanese idiom for a “weak tiny
unconfident” voice which is literally “a voice like a mosquito’s buzz”,
here we’ve taken it as the idiom. The line “even if our love can never be
said to be close…” was another one of those trouble spots MISUCHIRU
likes to throw at us…the japanese expresses a type of relationship in
which “one isn’t close enough to spend quality time with one another and
too distant to warrant a phone call when seperated from one another” Thus
Sakurai is pleaing with the girl to give him a phone call. This is an
especially trying kind of love. Next, “overestimating” … in this part
the girl says “oh Sakurai you’re so kind…” and he wants something more
substantial and looks angry but actually he’s just frustrated that she
won’t be more open with him. The next line “tsurezure” is an old kind of
spontaneous writing. And Sakurai is trying to put his feelings into a song
even though he can’t quite play it well. Oh man, this song is beautiful.

Alternate transliteration by Moto Okumura

Tsuyogari (Bravado)

I can see the old wounds in your defensive posture
Even in the hands that carry this heavy baggage
I sense your bravado

Even if you are laughing I know
You’re erecting Invisible walls around your heart

With a helpless tiny voice
I tried calling your name
Get through the lonely nights
Face me honestly and embrace me
Hurry

Even if a balanced distance is said to be the art of love
I want to be close to you
I’m always here whenever you want to give me a call

People I talk to has naturally narrowed down too
I’m always walking around with that tiny wish in my pocket

You say “you’re kind” but I ask you not to overrate me
Feels like an anger but it’s different
Get through the sadness
Face me honestly and embrace me
Tightly

Feeling affection and nothing else to do
So I strum my six strings
But my clumsy fingers get tangled up and shake

Sometimes brimming with confidence
I tried screaming your name
Take it easy, come closer to me one step at a time
And then one day
Face me honestly and embrace me tightly
Hurry
Come as you are… leaving your bravado behind…

ROMAJI

Rin to kamaeta sono shisei ni wa furukizu ga mie
Omoi nimotsu wo motsu te ni mo tsuyogari wo shiru

Waratte itemo boku ni wa wakatterun da yo
Mienai kabe ga kimi no haato ni tachihadakatteru no wo

Ka no naku you na tayorinai koe de
Kimi no namae wo yonde mita
Kodoku na yoru wo koete massugu ni
Mukiatte yo dakiatte yo hayaku

Tsukazu hanarezu ga koi no sube demo soba ni itai no yo
Itsu kimi ga denwa kuretemo ii you ni natteru

Hanasu aite mo onozu to semattekun da yo
Chitcha na negai wo itsumo poketto ni mochiaruiterun da

Yasashii ne nante kaikaburu na tte
Ikari ni mo niter iru kedo chigau
Kanashimi wo koete massugu ni
Mukiatte yo dakiatte yo tsuyoku

Itoshisa no tsurezure de kakinarasu rokugen ni
Bukiyou na yubi ga karande furueteru

Tama ni wa chotto jishin ni michita koe de
Kimi no na wo sakende min da
Aseranakute ii sa ippo zutsu boku no soba ni oide
Soshite itsuka boku to massugu ni
Mukiatte yo dakiatte yo
Hayaku tsuyoku aru ga mama de tsuyogari mo sutete

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2012 1:18 pm

    Hi! A huge fan of Mr.Children here… tsuyogari is one of my favorites also :)

    You guys did an awesome job translating this song as often the original nuance of songs gets lost in translation.

    I was thinking maybe the word “tsuyogari” can be translated as “bravado”…

    Also, my take on “つかず離れずが恋の術” I think he’s saying that even though he knows the magical formula for a good relationship is to keep a good balanced distance (つかず “without being attached” meaning not being co-dependent and 離れず “without leaving” meaning too distant), he’d still like to be close to his loved one. So I’d say “I want to be with you, even if a balanced distance is said to be the rules of love”. What you think?

    • March 29, 2012 11:59 pm

      Thanks, very interesting take on the lyrics. Brian and Takako did the original transliteration and side notes, I don’t read or speak Japanese but I think your interpretation is good too. I suppose in the context of the meaning of the song tsuyogari can be interpreted as false front or bravado – both means the same, yes? And you take on つかず離れずが恋の術 made better sense to me than Brian’s. I think the biggest problem for us non-Japanese reader and/or speakers is that we can’t really tell what is the most accurate one, but I tend to read lyrics as whole rather than line by line. In this case, I’d go with yours. Thanks again for dropping by and leaving me this note :)

      • March 30, 2012 3:33 pm

        Hi! I think there is no right or wrong in how people relate to songs bc it’s very personal… just wanted to share my perspective :) But I wish everyone could understand their songs in the original language bc they’re all powerful with profound, deep meaning and wisdom. I’m very happy to find a site that spreads his love. thanks! :)

  2. March 31, 2012 7:47 am

    Posting my version of the translated song… not that different from the one above tho. Enjoy!

    Tsuyogari (Bravado)

    I can see the old wounds in your defensive posture
    Even in the hands that carry this heavy baggage
    I sense your bravado

    Even if you are laughing I know
    You’re erecting Invisible walls around your heart

    With a helpless tiny voice
    I tried calling your name
    Get through the lonely nights
    Face me honestly and embrace me
    Hurry

    Even if a balanced distance is said to be the art of love
    I want to be close to you
    I’m always here whenever you want to give me a call

    People I talk to has naturally narrowed down too
    I’m always walking around with that tiny wish in my pocket

    You say “you’re kind” but I ask you not to overrate me
    Feels like an anger but it’s different
    Get through the sadness
    Face me honestly and embrace me
    Tightly

    Feeling affection and nothing else to do
    So I strum my six strings
    But my clumsy fingers get tangled up and shake

    Sometimes brimming with confidence
    I tried screaming your name
    Take it easy, come closer to me one step at a time
    And then one day
    Face me honestly and embrace me tightly
    Hurry
    Come as you are… leaving your bravado behind…

    • March 31, 2012 10:41 am

      Thanks, I’ve put your version up there as an alternate transliteration for people to read as well. Thanks again, appreciate the effort. If you hv others, pls don’t hesitate.

  3. March 31, 2012 3:28 pm

    Great! Thanks. Glad to be able to contribute to the community. Actually, I translated “擬態 Gitai” (Metamorphosis) from the album SENSE also. I didn’t know where to post it so here it is:

    擬態 Gitai (Metamorphosis)

    I started out at the bottom
    and today ended with the same score
    Like a mountain of discounted things
    Ash of broken dreams keep piling up

    Seems as if tomorrow opened arms with a friendly smile
    But then disappears into the haze beyond the ghost ship

    I transform into flying fish
    who jumps up ‘n down on the asphalt
    I bleed but I stretch out far
    If I can allow all inevitability and coincidence
    To be part of myself
    I can get beyond now

    My friend has complete opposite senses and interests than me
    And he hates all things ordinary
    I kind of envy that

    I desperately washed my hands
    But they are still covered in deep red blood
    I’m agonized and awakened by myself whom I killed long ago

    Supplements that promised the results in chorus
    All turned into bubble and disappeared in the stomach
    If I can allow all lies and truth to be part of myself
    I can be more beautiful

    Do you really think those with wealth
    are more content than ones without?
    Who decided those with disabilities
    aren’t freer than ones without?
    Not by eyes not by ears
    But we must use something else to see and hear
    Or else we overlook everything that’s transformed

    Seems as if hope extended its hands with a kind smile
    And it’s floating beyond the horizon

    I transform into flying fish
    who jumps up ‘n down on the asphalt
    I bleed but I stretch out far
    If we can allow all bluff and honesty
    To be part of ourselves
    We can be stronger
    We can get beyond now…

    • April 1, 2012 4:55 pm

      Very nice. I haven’t gotten around to adding transliteration for Supermarket Fantasy and Sense in this section; they are currently available as individual blogposts but once I get that up, this will definitely go into it too. Thanks again and drop me more if you have any ok?

    • April 5, 2012 12:10 am

      Hi there. I have put the translation into its individual page, with you credited at the end. Thanks again and please pass on any more translations that you have done. You can see the post here: https://ijahlovesmrchildren.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/mr-children-gitai-metamorphosis/

      • April 5, 2012 2:56 am

        Awesome Ijah! Thanks! This whole experience inspired me and I decided I want to translate all of their songs! Of course this is gonna take a while bc they have so many and I also have a lot going on… a side project for me so to speak. :)

      • April 5, 2012 3:18 am

        Very good to hear that, I look forward to seeing more translations from you. Also. feel free to add notes or explanation on how you derive your interpretation; I always add these notes at the end of the translation to allow readers to understand the lyrics better.

Leave a Reply

