Skip to content

Mr Children: Surrender

August 21, 2008

Surrender

      04.01.30
      Artist: Mr. Children
      Title: Surrender
      Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
      Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

      Burning my self on coffee is an indication
      of how upset I am.
      It’s cause you go and spring ‘goodbye’ on me suddenly.

      If I could just laugh it off,
      how great a guy would you think I was.
      but that’s not me.

      It’s last minute but
      I give it one more try,
      but, I Surrender
      the thick thunder clouds are gathering in my heart.

      I believed love was just an illusion anyway,
      back when I lived my life thinking I knew everything
      I thought you foolish but,

      I’m beaten ragged, here
      just some sap,
      no more, I Surrender
      that the fusion I so despise could make me cry,
      makes me despise myself, despise.

      light up the darkness, the way you used to
      without you I feel insecure
      I used to think I could lose it all and not give a shit
      I had myself convinced of it…

      a merciless rain falls in my heart
      the days we were together, wash by and disappear
      like trash in the street. The End.

      Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

      Translator’s Notes: Devastating.

      Romaji

      ko-hi- gurai de yakedo shita no ga
      douyou shiteru shouko nan dakedo
      sayonara wo kimi ga kyuu ni iu kara sa

      waraitobasu koto ga dekita nara
      donna ni ka gureito na yatsu to omowareru darou?
      demo boku ha chigau

      mou dotanba
      saredo mou hitooshi
      keredo I Surrender
      bunatsui sekiranun ga mune no naka ni tachikomeru

      aijyou nante douse iryu-jyon da to
      wake shiri kao de kurashita hibi ha
      kimi ga hakuchi ni omoe mo shita kedo

      mou kotenpan
      tada no ohitoyoshi
      mohaya I Surrender
      daikirai na fyu-jyon de nakesou na jibun ga iya iya

      kurayami wo terashite yo ano koro no you ni
      kimi nashi jya fuantei nanda yo
      issaigassai wo nakushite mo kamawanai to omoeta no ni
      sou shinjireta no ni

      mune ni mujyou no ame ga furu
      futari de sugoshita hibi ha rojyou no chiri no you
      nagare kiete The End sa

      Romaji By: Brian Stewart

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jamieson permalink
    November 18, 2008 2:45 am

    really curious how he could write such amazingly powerful lyrics… was he going through anything like this when he wrote it?

  2. December 22, 2008 10:13 am

    I think that he may have been going through a break/divorce with his first wife at the time, but I am not sure.

  3. December 22, 2008 11:55 am

    I think this was post divorce. everything it’s you and brand new my lover were written during the divorce period, I remember reading about it and finding it unusual for a song like everything it’s you, which at a glance seems like a love song, is actually a cynical jibe at love and ’til death do us apart’. The lyrics suddenly takes a different meaning once you realize the motivation behind the song.

    anyway, sakurai did say that all his songs are personal in nature.

  4. jamieson permalink
    July 18, 2010 10:48 am

    arrghhh… trying to play this on guitar but can’t find the chords for hte last part urkkk

    • July 21, 2010 1:47 am

      Here you go, from jerich:

      Comment from jerich
      Time: October 18, 2008, 6:54 am

      chords

      Em – 022000
      Em7 – 02000
      Cmaj7 – x32000
      C – x32010
      Dsus2 – xx0230
      Dsus7 – xx0233
      D – xx0232
      D7 – xx0212
      B7 – x21202
      F – 133211
      G – 320003
      A – x02220

      Verse
      Em Cmaj7 Dsus2 Dsus4
      ko-hi- gurai de yakedo shita no ga
      Em Cmaj7 Dsus2
      douyou shiteru shouko nan dakedo
      B7 Em C Dsus2 Dsus4
      sayonara wo kimi ga kyuu ni iu kara sa
      Em Cmaj7 Dsus2 Dsus4
      waraitobasu koto ga dekita nara
      Em Cmaj7 Dsus2 B7 Em
      donna ni ka gureito na yatsu to omowareru darou?
      C F D
      demo boku ha chigau

      Chorus
      G D Em C
      mou dotanba
      G D Em C
      saredo mou hitooshi
      G D Em A
      keredo I Surrender
      vary between C & Cmaj7, vary among D, Dsus2, Dsus4
      bunatsui sekiranun ga mune no naka ni tachikomeru

      aijyou nante douse iryu-jyon da to
      wake shiri kao de kurashita hibi ha
      kimi ga hakuchi ni omoe mo shita kedo

      mou kotenpan
      tada no ohitoyoshi
      mohaya I Surrender
      daikirai na fyu-jyon de nakesou na jibun ga iya

      Bridge
      B7
      iya
      Em C G D
      kurayami wo terashite yo ano koro no you ni
      Em C G D
      kimi nashi jya fuantei nanda yo (aaaahaaahhaaaa)
      Em C G D C
      issaigassai wo nakushite mo kamawanai to omoeta no ni
      vary among D, Dsus2, Dsus4
      sou shinjireta no ni

      mune ni mujyou no ame ga furu
      futari de sugoshita hibi ha rojyou no chiri no you
      C D7 F Em
      nagare kiete The End sa

      end on Em

      note that on the Em that begins each line of the verses, Sakurai palm mutes and plucks the low E string twice, then hammers from an Em7 to an Em (basically hammer the D string from open to 2, resulting in the shape of the Em chord)

  5. July 18, 2010 3:54 pm

    check the guitar tabs section, I think I have Surrender on it, or at least in the comments section or something. I remember trying it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

