Skip to content

Mr Children: Tegami (Letter)

August 21, 2008

Tegami (Letter)

04.07.20
Artist: Mr. Children
Title: Tegami (A Letter)
Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

to you who’s gone from my life, to you of my memories
these days I’m realizing somethings can’t be replaced.

we hurt each other making a big fuss over trifling matters,
now thinking of you, even then you’d always change into a smile.

I crossed the far off summer, beyond the fall,
I think of you.
even now I want to meet you, i’m so lonely
though I hate my foolish self.

to you who’s gone from my life, to you of my memories
I guess you’ll be sleeping in another’s arms now,
even though its Spring when flowers stream in the wind.

Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

Translator’s Notes: This song is so sad. Its one of my personal favorites
from the Shinkai album. Its so poignant for with few words. I don’t think
anyone who’s ever been in love can help but to get teary eyed upon hearing
this.

ROMAJI

(note: the romaji may not be accurate, appreciate corrections)

sugi sari shianatahe omoide noanatahe
kakegaenonaimononi kiduki yuku Mm ... kono goro desu
sasaina koto ni jounetsu wobutsuke kizutsu ke atte
soresaemo hohoemi ni kawari masu Mm ... ima naraba
tooi natsu wo koe te aki wo sugi te
anatano koto wo omou yo
ima demo ai takute sabishi sugite
oroka na jibun wo urami mosurukedo
sugi sari shianatahe omoide noanatahe
ima ja betsuno dareka no mune ni nemuru Mm ... hazudayone
hanayu reru Mm ... haru nanoni
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 19, 2012 9:16 am

    I suggest
    Sugisari shi anata he, onoide no anata he
    Kakegae no nai mono ni kuzuki yuku Mm
    Koni goro desu
    (I didn’t put a “d” for “kidzuku” since u hear it but don’t write it)
    Sasaina koto ni jounetsu o butsuke kizutsuke atte
    Sore

    • Anonymous permalink
      August 19, 2012 9:22 am

      Sorry i continue
      Sore saemo hohoemi ni kawarimasu MM.
      Ima naraba
      Tooi natsu o koete natsu ga sugite anata ni koto o omou yo
      Ima demo aitakute sabishisugite orokana jibun o urami mo suru kedo
      …..
      Ima ja betsu

    • October 18, 2012 11:04 pm

      Thank you, I’ll amend the romaji soonest. Sorry for late reply; work, life etc have been really busy. If you have anything else that you’d like to contribute to, just drop me a note. I’ll credit it and link it back to you :)

Leave a Reply

