Skip to content

Mr Children: Tenchou Bus (Bus to the Top)

August 21, 2008

Tenchou Bus (Bus to the Top)

      04.05.03
      Artist: Mr. Children
      Title: Tenchou Bus (Bus to the Top)
      Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
      Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

      It’s about time.
      hurry to stuff my bag
      the notepad for my material filled cover to cover
      with the future, A.B.C

      when me and the other guys were licking our wounds
      I didn’t notice that the winners were laughing it up Game Over *1

      if you want to
      you can keep learning forever
      It ain’t like I wanna be in the role of the challenger forever.
      I’m coming to take the title.

      let’s go by heaven bound bus
      it’s shakin’, gonna get some solid footing
      until I deliver on the promise, and my own hunch
      I doubt there’ll be a final stop for me.

      … and, what was I saying?

      ‘I’m sure tomorrow will be the day’
      let slip with nonsense
      just waiting for the episode that changes you, blockhead

      doing that,
      will only waste time,
      wait just a little closer to me, bluebird
      I’m coming to catch you now

      let’s go by heaven bound bus
      it’s shakin’, gonna get some solid footing
      until I deliver on the promise, and my own hunch
      I won’t get off
      no matter how rough the storm assaults
      gonna run through at a sprint
      we’re weeds
      but secretly in my heart
      I feel the opposite is true
      secretly in body

      once we’ve come through the tunnel,
      we’re at the entrance to another
      lately I’m thinking there’s no such thing
      as endless darkness and eternal light
      so don’t say
      ‘I don’t believe it’s my fault’
      just do it.

      let’s go by heaven bound bus
      c’mon it’s time to go, you too

      no matter how rough the storm assaults
      gonna run through at a sprint
      we’re weeds
      but secretly in my heart
      the runway that leads to heaven
      I’ll run up it at a full sprint
      the 108 carnal desires *2
      and instinct that knows no depths
      harbored secretly in my heart,
      in my body.

      Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

      Translator’s Notes: This one * requires quite a bit of explaination bear
      with me.

      * 1 – This line had to be interpreted to sound right. Takko and I see this
      as “winners and losers” The losers are consoling each other, while the
      winners are laughing. In the lyrics Sakurai uses mukougawa which just
      means “on the otherside”

      * 2 – In the Buddhist faith, it is believed that a person experiences 108
      earthly desires in one year’s time. This is why on December 31 at 12
      o’clock, a bell rings to wipe away the thoughts of the 108 earthly
      desires. Sakurai seems reluctant to lost them however.

      Romaji

      sorosoro jikan da
      isoide kaban ni tsumeyou
      sumi kara sumi made mirai wo kakitameta netachou A.B.C

      koko no renchuu to nagusameacchimaeba
      mukougawa no yatsu ga waratteta tte kizuki mo sezu Game Over

      nozondeireba
      itsumademo seichouki
      zutto charenjya- de
      itee wake jyaneen da
      beruto wo ubai ni iku zo

      tengokuyuki no basu de ikou yo
      yureru zo chi ni ashi wo tsukero
      onore no chokkan to kawashita yakusoku wo
      hatasu made kitto boku ni
      shuuten nado nee zoo

      …de nan dakke?

      ‘ashita koso kitto’ tte
      tawagoto nukashite
      jibun wo kaete kureru episo-do wo tada matteru deko no bou

      sou shitereba
      jikan dake muda ni sugiru yo
      mou sugu soba
      mattero buru- ba-do
      ima tsukamae ni iku zo

      tengokuyuki no basu de ikou yo
      yureru zo chi ni ashi wo tsukero
      onore no chokkan to kawashita yakusoku wo
      hatasu made ori ha shinai ze
      donna boufuuyu ga osotte mo
      zenryoku chissou de kakenukero
      bokura ha zassou yo
      demo gyaku no hassou wo
      kono mune ni himeteiru yo
      kono badi- ni himeteiru yo

      tonneru wo nukeru to
      tsugi no tonneru no iriguchi de
      hateshinai yami mo eien no hikari mo
      nai tte chikagoro ha omou
      dakara
      ‘jibun no sei to omowanai’
      toka ittenai de yattemi na

      tengokuyuki no basu de ikou yo
      saa nokkatte kimi mo oide yo

      donna boufuuyu ga osotte mo
      zenryoku chissou de kakenukero
      bokura ha zassou yo
      demo gyaku no hassou wo
      kono mune ni himete
      tengoku he to tsuzuku kassouro
      zenryoku chissou de kakenoborou
      hyakuhachi no bonnou to
      soko shirenu honnou wo
      kono mune ni himeteiru yo
      kono badi- ni himeteiru yo

      Romaji By: Brian Stewart

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

