Skip to content

Mr Children: Yurikago no Aru Oka kara (From the Hill Where the Cradle Is)

August 21, 2008

Yurikago no Aru Oka kara (From the Hill Where the Cradle Is)

      02.04.09
      Artist: Mr Children
      Title: Yurikago no Aru Oka kara (From the Hill Where the Cradle Is)
      Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
      Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

      The gentle wind was blowing on the grassy plain.
      the flower and grasses danced the waltz all day long.
      the honeybees brought the hymn of the birds
      to our ears, flying back and forth.

      the cradle is always there
      everytime I touch your hair as you sit there,
      a soft scent wraps around me,
      and before I know it I’m kissing your hair.

      we always arranged to meet each other here
      I used to eat the lunch you made for me…

      but while I was on the battlefield
      you went and grew up on me,
      even though I survived to come back here,
      always believing in our promise
      you were already in someone else’s arms,
      and I was alone.

      in my tired confused state,
      the grassy field surrounds me with a kindness just like that day,
      I won the battle but I lost something precious,
      what on earth was I doing?

      I put the picture of you resting your head on my shoulder
      into the cradle and look at it.

      Reading over the only letter you sent me,
      a loneliness I hadn’t noticed overcame me,
      even if I whisper “I’m sorry”, nothing will come of it,
      the pain just tightens in my chest
      Ah while I was on the battlefield
      you were already in someone else’s arms
      and I was alone.

      Translated: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

      Translator’s Notes: The line …tabeteta kke… In spoken Japanese,
      usually the attatchment kke refers to trying to recall a fact that you are
      unsure of. Such as if you were to meet your friend whose job you’re not
      entirely sure of, you could say aa Miki-chan ha OL dakke? or if you
      yourself are unaware of what you might have said… when someone reminds
      you… ano ne… 3 ji ni machiawase surun jyanai no? you can say 3 ji tte
      iitta kke? Anyway this usage of it is different, the singer is going over
      the memories fondly. kke can also be used in this manner.

      Romaji

      sougen ni ha yasashii kaze ga fuiteite
      kusabanatachi ga ichinichijyuu warutsu wo odotteta
      toritachi no sanbika wo mitsubachi ga hakondekite
      sore ga bokura no mimimoto de tobikatteta

      yurikago ga soko ni ha itsumo oiteari
      koshi kaketa kimi no yureru kami wo naderu tabi
      yawaraka na kaori ni tsutsumikomi
      omowazu boku ha sono kami ni kisu wo suru

      itsumo koko de machiawasete
      kimi notsukutta ranchi tabetetakke….

      demo boku ha senjo ni itteiru sono aida
      kimi ha otona ni natteshimatteite
      ano yakusoku wo tayori ni ikinobite modotta no ni
      kimi ha mou chigau dareka no ude no naka
      soshite boku ha hitori

      sougen ha ano hi no mama no yasashisa de
      kutabirete tomadou boku wo sotto tsutsumikomu
      arasoi ni katta kedo daiji na mono wo ushinatte
      ittai boku ha nani wo shiteita no darou

      boku no kata ni atama noseta
      kimi no shashin yurikago ni oite mite

      ichido dake kimi ga kureta tegami wo yomikaeshitara
      kizukenakatta sabishisa ga futtekite
      gomen ne to tsubuyaitemo mou dou naru wake demo naku
      setsunasa gyutto mune wo shimetsukeru
      Ah boku ga senjo ni itteiru sono aida
      kimi ha mou chigau dareka no ude no naka
      soshite boku ha hitori

      Romaji By: Brian Stewart

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

