Skip to content

Mr Children: Hitsuji, Hoeru. (Sheep, Barks)

April 4, 2009

Hitsuji, Hoeru. (Sheep, Barks)

There’s been no change in our status,
we’re still about 49% good versus 51% bad.
I don’t get much in the way of expectations anymore
every now and again if I can meet someone who praises me,
that’s good enough.

I wonder what a dog thinks when it sees itself in the mirror wearing clothes?
for the past two or three days, these are the kind of things I think about.

I’m of no blood relation to the wolf
so instead I bark like a sheep
I pretend not to notice when you laugh and call me “silly.”

our faith was about 50/50
but one day only my love was growing

there’s no power in these entwined fingers
even though I see this,
I haven’t the strength to undo them, so I keep on.

they say if you’re struck, turn the other cheek.
how wonderful it would be if we could have the good grace to live so.
I slip through a door that someone else opened
just before it shuts.
as I scratch my head at this repulsive habit
and worry a bit.

they say if you’re struck, turn the other cheek.
how wonderful it would be if we could have the good grace to live so.
I’m of no blood relation to the wolf
so instead I bark like a sheep
I pretend not to notice when you laugh and call me “silly.”
as I worry a bit
and love deeply.

Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

