Skip to content

New Digital Single: “Hanatareru” due out May 24th (and more)!

May 17, 2014

Image

Well, it’s been a long while since I’ve had any news to report on here, but today I finally have some new stuff to talk about – and there’s actually a fair amount of it.

Firstly, Mr.Children’s new song, “Hanatareru” will be released as a digital single on May 24th in order to coincide with the release of the movie that it’s serving as the theme song for (“Seiten no Hekireki”).  The cover art can be seen above – it really reminds me of stuff from the HOME era, which is promising in some ways, since I really liked that album.

Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, the band has confirmed that they’re currently finishing up the recording work for their new album!  I’m excited for this – really excited actually, since I’m hoping for a bit more of a return to form after (an imitation) blood orange.  Or at the least, a return to the use of more guitar in their songs.  We’ll see though.

Lastly, I’ve found a slightly lengthier preview of “Hanatareru”, which I’m going to share below.  Based on what we’ve heard thus far, I’ve a feeling that I’m going to really like this song; plus, I’m really curious about what the lyrics are referring to.  Hopefully some kind soul will end up translating the song.  Nonetheless, here’s that preview, and hopefully I’ll see you soon with PV (or a preview for one)!

Source:  http://natalie.mu/music/news/116820

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 17, 2014 10:00 pm

    Sounds really good! It makes me excited for the releases.
    Thank you to Ryusenkai as well for updating the news and keeping this blog alive. It’s truly helpful for MC fans like me who have limited understanding of Japanese.

Leave a Reply

