Skip to content

Album: Supermarket Fantasy

December 11, 2008
Supermarket Fantasy

Supermarket Fantasy

UPDATE 21/12/2008: My review of Supermarket Fantasy is up. Read it here.

UPDATE 20/12/2008: Transliteration for all tracks in Supermarket Fantasy  is now available at the Songlist page. As always, my deepest gratitude to boo and takko of utau-inu for their excellent work. At the moment, I am not going to re-post the transliteration here (though I will be adding them to the archive at a later date), please click on the link to be taken to it directly.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. jamieson permalink
    December 11, 2008 11:16 pm

    i have it i have it! it’s pretty good so far, their music style has definitely become more pop recently. I like Shounen very much tho…

  2. Ijah Amran permalink
    December 12, 2008 7:33 am

    *laughs* I just got it yesterday but haven’t had the time to listen to it yet since I am still grieving over missing Sting’s concert.

    But basing on previously released singles, I think the overall tone is uplifting and optimistic as compared to the pop-ish titled It’s A Wonderful World that turned out to be a moody album.

  3. indra permalink
    December 12, 2008 6:22 pm

    i have it to

  4. hamoutaro permalink
    December 15, 2008 1:43 am

    Can someone please explain me why the album is called “supermarket fantasy” ?

  5. jamieson permalink
    December 15, 2008 11:22 pm

    I think they’re trying to continue the theme that started with Home… songs that reflect ordinary people and ordinary lives. As soon as i figure out the lyrics i’ll let you know :o

  6. hamoutaro permalink
    December 16, 2008 2:39 am

    Thanks a lot jamieson !
    big kisses from frozen Paris (so coooooooooooooooooooold -___-)

    • December 16, 2008 9:54 pm

      I’ve only listened to the album in passing – while I was in the taxi on my way to work two mornings in a row. I put it on shuffle so that I don’t know what’s going to come up next. Sort of my strategy to force myself to listen to everything instead of pressing skip (I do this with all new albums).

      But one thing that struck is me is how all the songs seem to have big, grand, polished arrangements. This big sound arrangements worked incredibly well with Shirushi but having a whole album done up that way makes Supermarket Fantasy feels, well, excessive and over-produced.

      I almost wanted to demand them to release a fully acoustic album next to balance this one out.

      Anyway, that’s just how I feel about it at a glance. I haven’t really have the chance to sit down and give it a good spin yet so…

  7. spidey permalink
    January 10, 2009 5:59 am

    This album is amazing…

    I like every songs, but I think that GIFT is the best..
    Feels like gain power everytime I listen tothis song.. XDD

    Do you know where can I find the romaji lyrics for all songs?

    • January 11, 2009 12:08 pm

      I only have romaji for 5 songs so far i.e. Gift, Hanabi, Hana no Nioi, Tabidachi no Uta and Esora. You can look them up under Songlist tab. The transliterations for all the songs are already available via utau-inu that I have linked in the individual song titles. Will update the romaji as and when I get them.

Leave a comment