Skip to content

Mr Children: Tomo to Coffee to Uso to Ibukuro (Friends, Coffee, Lies, Stomach)

August 21, 2008

Tomo to Coffee to Uso to Ibukuro (Friends, Coffee, Lies, Stomach)

      04.07.01
      Artist: Mr. Children
      Title: Tomo to Coffee to Uso to Ibukuro (Friends, Coffee, Lies, Stomach)
      Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
      Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

      Ah I heard about you through the grapevine
      seems you got married but you’re not really happy with it
      well I have my own little life to think of
      so I really can’t do anything about that for you.
      my friend my friend my friend

      Ah men too change depending on what girl they’re with.
      Lately I’m drinking coffee instead of English tea.
      because the combination of the bitter coffee and
      the scent her cigarette’s leave behind in her mouth is so good,
      drink it up, drink it up, drink it up

      Ah I’ll drink up the coffee,
      I’ll swallow the cigarette, drink it up
      drink the alcohol, drink it up
      I’ll drink everything
      I did an impression of someone, Mustn’t think of the consequences.
      Because I mean it ammounts to there never being any
      such thing as today’s me.
      you got it, that’s right.

      even if that’s an unreasonable demand,
      even if that’s some haughty woman’s selfish request.
      I’ll drink it up, let me drink it.
      listen up, I’m gonna be a master drinker.
      that is to say, it’s kind of a goal of mine.

      you got, Akatsuka Fujio and Keith Richards
      then Nosaka Akiyuki and Fujiwara Kumichou right *1
      Ain’t it posh, make ya feel like you’re in downtown.

      ah, no, maybe not quite like that.
      We’re off topic, we’ve been derailed.
      but you know, it’s fine to go off the tracks,
      but you can’t live by inertia, that’s MY policy
      There I said it, I really said it.

      Ah it said in some cheap B-magazine
      My fortune this year is really promising
      so I’ve been putting my faith in this cute little lie
      that I might be able to believe.

      hey look man, the end of the century (world) is already old news.
      I never believed in the catholic church in the first place
      even I’m going to burn in hell, I’m gonna eat dolphins and whales,
      I will sadness, love, hate, kindness, indecentness
      eat em up, eat em up, eat em up

      so stomach, ah my stomach
      be tougher, be greedier
      swallow it all, digest it all
      turn it all to energy

      so stomach, ah my stomach
      be tougher, be greedier
      swallow it all, digest it all
      turn it all to muscle.

      Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

      Translator’s Notes: Weirdo song. The middle part has to be heard to be
      believed. On to the *’s!

      *1 – Let’s got through this list of names one at a time:

      Akatsuka Fujio – One of Japan’s most recognized and beloved Manga artists.
      Responsible for countless classic series including Himitsu no Akkochan
      among others. Once apprenticed with Tezuka Osamu the godfather of manga.

      Keith Richards – The badboy Guitarist of the still kicking Rolling Stones,
      arguably the greatest rock band in history. Famous for songs like “Paint
      it Black”, and “satisfaction” among others.

      Nosaka Akiyuki – A Japanese singer who had most of his popularity in the
      50’s and 60’s.

      Fujiwara Kumichou – A pro-wrestler.

      Romaji

      aa kaze no uwasa de kimo no hanashi wo kiitan da yo
      kekkon shita keredo amari shiawase de ha nai rashii
      boku ni datte sorenari ni mamoru seikatsu ha aru kara
      nani wo shiteagerareru to iu wake jyanai kedo
      tomo yo tomo yo tomo yo

      aa otoko mo mata onna ni yotte kawarun da naa
      saikin ha koucha yori mo ko-hi- wo noderun da yo
      ano ko no suu tabako no kuchi no naka nokoriga to
      nigai ko-hi- to aishou ga totemo ii kara
      nomu yo nomu nomu yo

      Ah ko-hi wo nomu yo
      tabako mo nomu yo nomu yo
      osake mo nomu yo nomu yo
      nandatte nomu yo
      hito wo monomane shita atosaki toka kangaecha dame da yo
      datte somosomo kyou no jibun nante
      hajime kara nai mo douzen dakara ne
      mou ii kai sorya sou da yo

      tatoeba sore ga muchakucha na youkyuu darou ga
      tatoeba sore ga goumon na onna no wagamama darou to sa
      nomu yo nomasete choudai yo
      ii nee nomu tatsujin ni naritai ne
      aru imi mou akogare ni chikai kanji ga aru yo

      akatsuka fujio ni ki-su richa-do ne
      nosaka akiyuki ni fujiwara kumichou desho
      iki da nee shitamachi jyousho da yo ne

      aa sore ha chotto chigau ka
      dassen shichatta ne dassen da yo nee
      demo boku ha ne dassen ha ii kedo dasei de ikicha dame
      kore boku no porishi-
      umai koto itta umai koto ittaa

      sou boku no kotoshi no unsei ha totemo iin da naa
      kudaranai bi-kyuu zasshi ni kaiteatta kedo
      shinjiru koto no dekisou na kurai no kawaii uso ha
      narubeku shinjitemiru koto ni shitan dakara

      saa mitemiro yo ima ya seiki matsu ha tooi kako no hanashi da
      somosomo kirisutokyou ni boku ha nan no shinkou mo nai
      batsu atari to iwarete mo kujira ya iruka no niku mo taberu
      kanashimi mo nikushimi mo itoshisa mo yasashisa mo iyarashisa mo
      taberu yo taberu yo taberu yo

      dakara ibukuro yo aa boku no ibukuro yo
      motto kyoujin tare motto donyoku tare
      nandatte nomikonde nandatte shouka shite
      zenbu enerugi- ni kaeteshimaou

      dakara ibukuro yo aa boku no ibukuro yo
      motto kyoujin tare motto donyoku tare
      nandatte nomikonde nandatte shouka shite
      zenbu kinniku ni kaeteshimaou

      Romaji By: Brian Stewart

No comments yet

Leave a comment