Skip to content

Mr Children: Youthful Days

August 21, 2008

Youthful Days

01.11.12
Artist: Mr Children
Title: Youthful Days
Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

That afternoon the sudden showers came and went
the puddle reflected the sky,
we jumped into it with our bicycle
the water sprayed up spreading out like wings.
you grinned a little devillishly
I cackled loudly.

even if I’m surrounded by distorted scenery
when I hold you, it erases all the worry.

sound the bell of my heart
with a rough kiss and embrace
expose my heart utterly
I wish we could be together always

You say, “There’s a red flower on the cactus”
You urge me to “come quickly”
We toasted, I don’t know how many times,
and by morning the flower had wilted.
I remember you stroked the flower petal
I think that motion is really sexy.

Though there are no flowers on the surface,
there are many thorns, if you’re careless you’ll get pricked.

Sound the bell of my heart
with a heartwrenching kiss and embrace
wet my dry heart
I hope we can just be together.

When I hold the soft fleshy warmth (I got back youthful days)
When I answer your instinct with a ticklish roughness (I got back youthful
days)
There’s no need to put a name to the feeling so like pain (I got back
youthful days)
I feel the self exposed that my daily life subdues.

Don’t let go of the hand you hold
having an indecent mood together, we steal tomorrow

Sound the bell of my heart
With a rough kiss and embrace
Expose my heart utterly
I wish we could be together always
I wish we could together forever.

Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

Translator’s Notes: The part which we translated as “our” bicycle, is said
in Japanese as “our two wheels”. Meaning they were riding a bicycle
together. I love the start of this song… like the two of them feeling
all devillish for spraying up the water in a pretty puddle like that. The
“distorted scenery” is a very Japanese description… it’s like when
things are going bad… you’re mood warps your surroundings. You lose
sight of all the good things… or even you lose sight of everything
except the bad stuff. So it could also be translated as “when things go
bad”. omotedoori ni ha literally is on “main street” but we believe
Sakutrai likely means it as “on the surface” in this case. The whole
section of the song starting with “when I hold a soft fleshy warmth…” is
likely an allusion to sex. fuhai no mood wo kawashite is also probably
alluding to sex. I gess you stay young by having lots of sex. heheh… ok
maybe the song is deeper than that but that’s certainly one of its themes.

ROMAJI

niwaka ame ga toori sugitetta gogo ni
mizutamari wa sora wo utsushi dashite iru
futatsu no sharin de bokura sore ni tobi konda
hane no you ni hirogatte mizu shibuki ga agatte
kimi wa warau itazura ni niya niya to
boku mo warau koe wo age gera gera to

iganda keshiki ni tori kakomarete mo
kimi wo daitara fuan wa sugata wo kesu n da

mune no kane no oto wo narashite yo
kowareru hodo no houyou to kisu de
arawa ni kokoro wo sarashite yo
zutto futari de iraretara ii

“saboten ga akai hana wo tsuketa yo” to itte
“isoide oide” tte boku ni saisoku wo suru
nankai mo kuri kaeshi bokura kanpai wo shita n da
dakedo asa ni natte hana wa shiorete shimatte
kimi no yubi hanabira wo nadetetarou
boku wa omou sono shigusa sekushii da to

omotedoori ni wa hana mo nai kuse ni
toge ga ooi kara yudan shite iru to sasaru ya

mune no kane no oto wo narashite yo
setsunai hodo no houyou to kisu de
kawaita kokoro wo nurashite yo
tada futari de iraretara ii

namagusakute yawarakai nukumori wo dakishimeru toki
(I got back youthful days)
kusuguttai you na ranbou ni kimi no honnou ga oujiteru toki
(I got back youthful days)
kurushi sa ni mo nita kanjou ni mou namae nante nakute ii n da yo
(I got back youthful days)
nichijou ga oshi koroshite kita muki dashi no jibun wo kanjiru

tsunaida te wo hanasanai de yo
fuhai no muudo wo kawashite asu wo ubau n da

mune no kane no oto wo narashite yo
kowareru hodo no houyou to kisu de
arawa ni kokoro wo sarashite yo
zutto futari de iraretara ii

itsu mo futari de iraretara ii

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Pages tagged "youthful"

Leave a comment