Skip to content

Mr Children: Over

August 5, 2008

Over

04.07.20
Artist: Mr. Children
Title: Over
Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

Even when I search for love deep in your eyes
they tell me nothing,
words aren’t enough,
I faintly remember you complaining that way.

Now, thinking back
your chest was small in proportion to your face,
and your voice was a little nasally,
I count them up but there’s no end,
even though I loved you,
even if I blame it on a change of heart, its meaningless.

I said, “Don’t kiss me, I don’t want you to catch my cold”
when I think about it, it was from then on
that your atttitude changed.

When it came down to it
I never felt like calling everynight
right around when you were going to sleep
but I’m not so sure
just what does it mean to “be a man” anyway?

the clouds flying in the evening glow,
wouldn’t it be nice to be like that,
because I’m always failing when I overthink things

Now I’m thinking back
your loud voice that can’t lie,
and the rough palms unsuited to housework,
all those elements that make up you
even though I loved you,
even if I blame a change of heart, it won’t bring you back.
someday if we run into each other on the street
don’t have become more beautiful then now.
perhaps I’m going to forget your warmth.
goodbye my beloved.

even your eyes which tell me nothing will someday be a memory
I’ll come and go through this sad tunnel there are no words to describe.

Translated by: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

Translator’s Notes: Rewritten. Streamlined. Still some of my favorite Mr.
Children lyrics ever.

Romaji

nanimo kataranai kimi no hito no oku ni ai wo sagashite mo
kotoba ga tarinai… sou boyaiteta kimi wo futto omoidasu (bye bye)

ima to nareba
kao no wari ni chiisa na mune ya
sukoshi hana ni kakaru sono koe mo
kazoeagerya kiri ga nain da yo
aishiteta no ni
kokorogawari wo semete mo (that time is over) munashikute

‘kaze ga utsuru to ikenai kara
kisu ha shinai de okou’ tte itteta
kangaetemiru to ano koro kara kimi no taido ha chigatteta (bye bye)

iza to nareba
maiban kimi ga nemuri ni tsuku koro
aimokawarazu denwa kaketeyaru
nante maru de sono ki ha nai kedo
wakaranaku naru yo
otokorashisa tte ittai (that time is over)
donna koto darou?

yuuyake ni mau kumo
anna fuu ni nareta nara ii na
itsumo kangaesugite shippai shitekita kara Wow

ima to nareba
uso no tsukenai ooki na koe ya
kaji ni mukanai areta tenohira mo
kimi wo tsukuru subete no youso wo aishiteta no ni
kokorogawari wo semete mo (that time is over)
kimi ha modoranai

itsuka machi de guuzen deatte mo
ima ijyou ni kirei ni nattenai de
tabun boku ha wasureteshimau darou
sono nukumori wo itoshiki hito yo sayonara

nanimo kataranai kimi no hitomi mo itsuka omoide to naru
kotoba ni naranai kanashimi no tonneru wo
saa kugurinukeyou

Romaji By: Brian Stewart

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jamieson permalink
    November 18, 2008 2:40 am

    lyrics are great, but the tune doesn’t really match the song i think… needs to be more sullen. they should remix it… surrender is still their best breakup song.

Trackbacks

  1. Songlist « Mr Children (English Fansite)

Leave a comment