Skip to content

Mr Children: Candy

August 5, 2008

Candy

      10.08.05
      Artist: Mr. Children
      Title: Candy
      Words: Sakurai Kazutoshi
      Music: Sakurai Kazutoshi

      you snuck out into the hallway,
      as if to persuade me to ‘give up’
      innocently dangling the dream before me,
      what I wrapped up tight, aches to burst free.
      I left the painful memories for last
      eventhough they were pretending to be asleep
      it’s not in my nature but, if I could see you
      it would make me happy
      everyday I would swallow my feelings
      after agonizing over them,
      that bittersweet candy was still here in my breast pocket
      you made me realize this
      I wanted so much, to be as close to you as possible,
      in the meantime I found myself choked up
      this is probably how people end up losing what’s important to them
      and without a second thought, I wanted you
      it’s pathetic, I know, but it’s all so precious to me
      my loneliness all of a sudden explodes with the coming of evening
      the sweet and sour candy is in my breast pocket,
      won’t you have it
      last night, I got hit with my nightly migraine and took my tablet
      it made me want to see you even more, and hear your voice
      it’s pathetic, I know, but it’s all so precious to me
      when I’m alone late into the night, my loneliness explodes
      that bittersweet candy was still here in my breast pocket
      there’s just one left,
      the sweet and sour candy is in my breast pocket,
      won’t you have it

      Translated By: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

      Translator’s Notes: None

      Romaji

      ‘akirame yo’ to satosu kairo ni
      kimi ga sotto shinkyuu shitekite
      nani kuwanu kao de yume wo chiratsukasu
      jyouzu ni tsutsunde shimatta mono ga
      ‘tobidashitai’ to uzuiteru
      itai kioku wo saigo ni neta furi shiteita kuse ni
      gara demo nai kedo aeru to ureshii yo
      nayanda matsu ni omoi wo nomikomu hibi
      horo nigai kyandi- ga mada mune no poketto ni atta
      kizukaseta no ha kimi
      ooku no koto wo motomesugite
      dekiru dake soba ni itakute
      sonna koto shiteru aida ni iki ga tsumaru
      daitei hito ha konna kanji de
      daiji na mon wo ushinaun darou
      soshite kori mo sezu kimi wo hoshigatteru
      mittomonai kedo subete ga itoshii yo
      futo yuugure ni kodoku ga bakuhatsu suru
      amazuppai kyandi- ga boku no mune no pokketo ni arun da
      kimi ga tabete okure
      kinou no yoru itsumo no henzutsuu ga boku wo osotte
      nomikomu taburetto
      yaki ni aitakute koe ga kikitaku natte
      mittomonai kedo subete ga itoshii yo
      hitori yofuke ni kodoku ga bakuhatsu suru
      horo nigai kyandi- ga mada mune no poketto ni atta
      tada hitotsu amazuppai kyandi- ga boku no mune no pokketo ni arun da
      kimi ga tabete okure

      Romaji By: Brian Stewart

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lala permalink
    November 27, 2011 9:54 am

    Thank you for posting this. I really appreciate that.
    Can I post this beautiful translation on my wall of FB?
    If you are okay Please let me know.

  2. December 2, 2011 11:21 am

    Go ahead, enjoy.

Trackbacks

  1. Listing of Transliteration and Romaji « Mr Children (English Fansite)

Leave a comment