Skip to content

Mr Children: Forever

April 4, 2011

Forever

A chilly air
just went by my chest
dull ‘ol me, on the couch
becomes a lethargic seal, laying about.

I haven’t fallen so far that I’ve lost my sense of self

Forever
I got a little light-headed at that saccharine phrase
I give in. I give in.
if you won’t accept

neither my offer to add nor take away.

I had an inkling that
We’re somehow alike you and me
Actually, we worked hard for this together
I wanted to be closer, so I imitated you

it’s not an outright lie, but it’s certainly not the truth either.

if we aren’t careful, if we aren’t careful
a person can change who they are without realizing it
now that you mention it, now that you mention it
the person I play, the one who loves you,
is no longer a performance.

what should I do? what should I do?
when I start to think of a world without you as the norm

Forever
I still want to believe in that saccharine phrase
speaking of which, come to think of it
there’s always been many loves all around us.

Translated by: Brian Stewart & Takako Sakuma

No comments yet

Leave a comment